top of page

Epica: The Holographic Principle

Epica is back with a new album titled 'The Holographic Principle,' and they're not messing around. With their seventh studio release, they have returned with yet another offering of larger-than-life sounds with all the atmosphere and imagery you've come to expect from this band.

For anyone new to the scene, Epica is one of the leading symphonic rock/metal bands out of the Netherlands. They've been crafting their sound since their 2003 debut album, 'The Phantom Agony' and have since achieved their place as one of the premier acts in their genre.

With 'The Holographic Principle,' Epica once again blends both fantasy and science as they postulate an alternate theory of our existence.

“The Holographic Principle"deals with the near future, where virtual reality allows people to create their own worlds which can’t be distinguished from ‘reality as we know it’. This raises the question whether our current reality could be a virtual reality in itself – a hologram. The lyrics challenge you to reconsider everything you took for granted and to be open-minded towards recent revolutions in science. Nothing appears to be what it seems in our holographic universe.” - Mark Jansen

The album kicks off with a dramatic instrumental, "Eidola" and heads straight into the first single, "Edge of the Blade." Packed with a solid vocal blend of singer Simone Simons and backing chorus work. Things really kick up a notch with "Universal Death Squad," the album's most standout track. Here, we get a full dose of progressive metal, ripe with a fully engaging melody and another blend of both Simons' vocals offset with a chorus. The drums are thunderous. If you sample one track on this album, this is the best representation of what an Epica experience is all about! The concept of this album continues to evolve track by track, culminating in the epic finale, 'The Holographic Principle - A Profound Understanding of Reality.'

Much like most of Epica's work (and the bulk of symphonic metal in general), this is an album that's meant to be experienced, not listened to one track at a time. It's a journey, and one that almost always involved several trips to fully grasp the scope and depth of the story that's unfolding before your ears.

'The Holographic Principle' was released on September 30th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Track listing:

1. Eidola

2. Edge of the Blade

3. A Phantasmic Parade

4. Universal Death Squad

5. Divide and Conquer

6. Beyond the Matrix

7. Once Upon a Nightmare

8. The Cosmic Algorithm

9. Ascension - Dream State Armageddon

10. Dancing in a Hurricane

11. Tear Down Your Walls

12. The Holographic Principle - A Profound Understanding of Reality

Epica is on tour this fall in North America. Check out their dates below to see if they're coming to a city near you! Click the banner for tickets.


bottom of page