top of page

Metallica: Hardwired...To Self-Destruct

Metallica have released the first single from the newly announced album Hardwired...To Self-Destruct this week, and it's a breath of fresh air!

The lead single, "Hardwired," does everything the material on their last album (2008's Death Magnetic) didn't. It's an extremely short thrasher that exudes attitude and pulls no punches. While far from their most complicated arrangement, the fan response has been overwhelming positive, if not surprisingly so at times.

While Metallica's most die-hard fans will justify their love for every release, "Hardwired" seems to indicate that Metallica have jumped on the same train as fellow Big 4 thrash bands Megadeth, Slayer and Anthrax, who have all released exceptional albums over the course of the last 12 months. As with the aforementioned bands, they have all gone back to embracing their roots and what it is that launched their careers in the first place.

The most impressive piece of this, is just how raw and honest this track feels. Metallica have nothing to prove, and it's no secret they can thrash. To drop a song that doesn't feel even the least bit forced, is what makes this go around so special.

Metallica - "Hardwired" Music Video

Hardwired...To Self-Destruct will be released on November 18th via Blackened Records, and will be available in the following formats:

Disc One

  1. Hardwired

  2. Atlas, Rise!

  3. Now That We’re Dead

  4. Moth Into Flame

  5. Am I Savage?

  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion

  2. Dream No More

  3. ManUNkind

  4. Here Comes Revenge

  5. Murder One

  6. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition Only)

  1. Lords Of Summer

  2. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)

  3. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)

  4. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)

  5. Plow (Riff Origins)

  6. Sawblade (Riff Origins)

  7. RIP (Riff Origins)

  8. Lima (Riff Origins)

  9. 91 (Riff Origins)

  10. MTO (Riff Origins)

  11. RL72 (Riff Origins)

  12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)

  13. CHI (Riff Origins)

  14. X Dust (Riff Origins)

Hardwired...To Self-Destruct album cover:

bottom of page